Hashmatullah Shahidi returns to Afghanistan’s squad for T20I series against Ireland | Latest cricket news, Live cricket score, Podcast

Hashmatullah Shahidi, a left-handed batter, has rejoined Afghanistan’s Twenty20 side for their upcoming five-match tour to Ireland. 

Shahidi, who last represented Afghanistan in a T20I in March 2021 in Abu Dhabi against Zimbabwe, is called back after impressive showings in the 2022 Shpageeza Cricket League, where he scored 259 runs in seven innings for the Boost Defenders side, averaging 51.80. 

Right-handed bowler Naveen ul Haq and opening batter Ibrahim Zadran were also chosen for the team. Nijat Masoud, Qais Ahmad, and Usman Ghani are all listed in the reserves along with the spinner Mujeeb Ur Rahman.

Mujeeb has been added to the reserve players because Noor Malikzai, the chief selector, claims that his visa has not yet been obtained. He promised that he would be added back to the main squad as soon as the issue was fixed. 

The 2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup will be held in Australia, while the 2022 Asia Cup will be held in the United Arab Emirates. According to Mir Mubariz, a member of the national selection committee, the Ireland series is crucial “in terms of our overall preparations for the mega events forward.” 

The five-match Twenty20 International series between Afghanistan and Ireland will take place at Stormont on August 9, 11, 12, 15 and 17. Additionally, Jonathan Trott’s tenure as Afghanistan’s new head coach will begin with the series, with Graham Thorpe significantly ill.

T20I Squad: Mohammad Nabi (C), Afsar Zazai, Azmatullah Omarzai, Darwish Rasooli, Farid Ahmad Malik, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Hazratullah Zazai, Ibrahim Zadran, Karim Janat, Najibullah Zadran, Naveen ul Haq, Noor Ahmad, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Rashid Khan and Sharafuddin Ashraf.

Reserves: Mujib ur Rahman, Nijat Masoud, Qais Ahmad, and Usman Ghani 

Leave a Comment